A new chapter in Mississippi politics

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

A new chapter in Mississippi politics will begin this week.

Starting today, 14 new senators and 25 new House members will begin their new post as the 2020 legislative session will be set into motion.

Besides the new faces, the first session of the new term will be a little bit different–well, at least a little bit longer.

The 2019 session only lasted until March 29, while this year’s session is scheduled to conclude on May 10, giving lawmakers roughly two extra months to hash out some of Mississippi’s biggest issues.

Then, on Thursday, seven of the recently-elected, statewide officials will take office.

The inauguration of Delbert Hosemann (Lieutenant Governor), Lynn Fitch (Attorney General), Michael Watson (Secretary of State), Shad White (State Auditor), David McRae (Treasurer), Andy Gipson (Commissioner of Agriculture), and Mike Chaney (Commissioner of Insurance) will take place at 2:00 p.m. in the House chambers.

Governor-elect Tate Reeves will be inaugurated five days later on Tuesday, January 14. The ceremony will take place on the Mississippi State Capitol south lawn at 10:30 a.m.

Republicans swept all eight, statewide offices and remain in firm control of the legislature, holding a supermajority in both chambers.

The post A new chapter in Mississippi politics appeared first on News Mississippi.