Governor announces disaster assistance for DeSoto & surrounding counties

posted in: Mississippi News | 0
Courtesy of Gov. Reeves’ Office

Governor Tate Reeves has announced disaster assistance for Mississippi businesses and residents hit by severe weather and tornadoes on January 10-11, 2020.

Working to help Mississippians recover from the devastation, Governor Reeves sent a letter to Administrator Jovita Carranza at the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) requesting a disaster declaration to make loans available to those impacted. The declaration covers DeSoto County and the following Northwest counties: Marshall, Tate, and Tunica. Residents and businesses in those counties can apply for low-interest disaster loans from SBA.

Here in the Hospitality State, we never have to think twice about helping out our neighbors when times are tough. We step up and hold out a helping hand to our fellow Mississippian. The people and businesses in Northwest Mississippi deserve that helping hand. Working with the U.S. Small Business Administration, I am committed to helping Mississippi families, businesses, and communities get back on their feet whenever disaster strikes, said Governor Reeves.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBAs secure website at

Businesses and individuals may also obtain information and loan applications by calling the SBAs Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 (1-800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing), or by emailing

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is April 6, 2020. The deadline to return economic injury applications is Nov. 6, 2020.

The post Governor announces disaster assistance for DeSoto & surrounding counties appeared first on News Mississippi.