Lt. Governor Hosemann’s First Day in the Senate, Names Committees

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

This is Lt. Governor Delbert Hosemann’s first time to gavel in the Senate after being inaugurated yesterday to Lt. Governor after serving as the Secretary of State since 2008.

According to the Mississippi Legislature website, for the Senate, there are 39 committees with two new added this term, which are Technolgy and Gaming. 

“I spent many hours working on what is going to be announced here in the senate,” Hosemann stated. “I have tried to balance those in the best of my ability each and everyone was reviewed by me and I believe we are in a tipping point in the history of Mississippi.” 

Hosemann continues on to say again how the House and Senate should work together and the rotunda in the middle of the building should not split them.

Lt. Governor Hosemann also said that there will be policy attorneys assigned to each committee for any legal assistance needed, this is something they have never had before. 

Here are the following committees:

Accountability, Efficiency, Transparency: John Polk, Chairman; Angela Hill, Vice-Chairman

Agriculture: Chuck Younger, Chairman; Benjamin Suber, Vice-Chairman.

Appropriations: W. Briggs Hopson III, Chairman; Brice Wiggins, Vice-Chairman.

Business and Financial Institutions: Chris Caughman, Chairman; Chad McMahan, Vice-Chairman

Constitution: Chris Johnson, Chairman; Derrick T. Simmons, Vice-Chairman.

Corrections: Juan Barnett, Chairman; Daniel Sparks, Vice-Chairman.

County Affairs: Angela Burks Hill, Chairman; Chuck Younger, Vice-Chairman.

Drug Policy: David Jordan, Chairman, Melanie Sojourner, Vice-Chairman.

Economic and Workforce Development: David Parker, Chairman; Jeremey England, Vice-Chairman.

Education: Dennis DeBar Jr., Chairman; David Blount, Vice-Chairman.

Elections: Jenifer B. Branning, Chairman; Jeff Tate, Vice-Chairman.

Energy: Joel R. Carter Jr., Chairman; Gary Jackson, Vice- Chairman.

Enrolled Bills: Derrick T. Simmons, Chairman; Robert L. Jackson, Vice-Chairman.

Environment Pros, Cons and Water Res: Chris McDaniel, Chairman; Chris Caughman, Vice-Chairman.

Ethics: Albert Butler, Chairman; Chris McDaniel, Vice-Chairman.

Executive Contingent Fund: Robert L. Jackson, Chairman; Juan Barnett, Vice-Chairman.

Finance: Josh Harkins, Chairman; Sally Doty, Vice-Chairman.

Forestry: Sampson Jackson, II, Chairman; Sally Doty, Vice-Chairman.

Gaming: David Blount, Chairman; Phillip Moran, Vice-Chairman.

Highways and Transportation: Joey Fillingane, Chairman; Rita Potts Parks, Vice-Chairman.

Housing: Barbara Blackmon, Chairman; Tammy Witherspoon, Vice-Chairman.

Insurance: J. Walter Michel, Chairman; Nicole Akins Boyd, Vice-Chairman.

Interstate and Federal Cooperation: Hillman Terome Frazier, Chairman; Joseph Thomas, Vice-Chairman.

Investigative State Offices: Mike Thompson, Chairman; Sarita Simmons, Vice-Chairman.

Judiciary Division A: Sally Doty, Chairman; Jenifer B. Branning, Vice-Chairman.

Judiciary Division B: Brice Wiggins. Chairman; Barbara Blackmon, Vice-Chairman.

Labor: John Horhn, Chairman; Hillman Terome Frazier, Vice-Chairman.

Legislative Budget Committee: Delbert Hosemann, Chairman.

Local and Private: Chad McMahan, Chairman; Dean Kirby, Vice-Chairman.

Medicaid: Kevin Blackwell, Chairman; Chris Johnson, Vice-Chairman.

Municipalities: Gary Jackson, Jr., Chairman; Michael McLendon, Vice-Chairman.

Ports and Marine Resources: Philip Moran, Chairman; Mike Thompson, Vice-Chairman.

Public Health and Welfare: Hob Bryan, Chairman; John A. Polk, Vice-Chairman.

Public Property: Angela Turner-Ford, Chairman; Albert Butler, Vice-Chairman.

Rules: Dean Kirby, Chairman.

State Library: Sollie B. Norwood, Chairman; Kathy Chism, Vice-Chairman.

Technology: Scott Delano, Chairman; David Parker, Vice-Chairman

Tourism: Lydia Graves Chassaniol, Chairman, John Horhn, Vice-Chairman.

Universities and Colleges: Rita Potts Parks, Chairman, Joey Filliangane, Vice-Chairman.

Veterans and Military Affairs: Mike Seymour, Chairman; Scott DeLano, Vice-Chairman.

Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks: Neil S. Whaley, Chairman; Tyler McCaughn, Vice-Chairman.


The post Lt. Governor Hosemann’s First Day in the Senate, Names Committees appeared first on News Mississippi.